Sign In

Welcome message by the Chairman of the Board Trustees

​I welcome your interest in the Sharjah Award for Doctoral Theses in Administrative and Financial Sciences in the Arab World, which serves to honor Arab nationals who have distinguished themselves in the fields of administrative and financial sciences.

The award was launched in 2001 under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, in collaboration with the Arab Administrative Development Organization (ARADO). Underpinned by a belief in the importance of developing theoretical and empirical knowledge in the areas of administrative and financial sciences, the award aims to encourage researchers in these fields. His Highness, Ruler of Sharjah, further issued Emiri Decree No. (37) in 2021, which gives the University of Sharjah  (UOS) oversight over the award.

Arab nationals awarded a PhD degree in administrative or financial sciences within the last three years are eligible to apply for the award, provided they have published papers in Q1 or Q2 journals. This provision is consistent with the graduation requirements for PhD candidates studying at the University of Sharjah and considered essential to the advanced research ranking obtained by UOS at the local, regional and international levels.

The evaluation and selection of candidates will be determined using the following three criteria and indicated weighting percentages:

1- Blind review of the thesis by two reviewers (50%).
2- Publications derived from the thesis (30%).
3- Personal interview (20%).

Applications will be ranked according to the total percentage obtained based on the above criteria.

Once selected, the top three award recipients in each of the two categories (administrative and financial sciences) will be invited to a formal ceremony held at the University of Sharjah, where they will receive the award from His Highness Sheikh Sultan bin Ahmed Al Qasimi, Deputy Ruler of Sharjah and President of the University of Sharjah.

Wishing you all much success.  Please feel free to contact members of the award team who will be happy to answer any questions you might have.

For inquiries: 
Sharjah Award for Doctoral Theses Office / University of Sharjah:
Professor Hamid M.K. Al Naimiy,
Chairman  of the  Award Board Trustees
Chancellor of the University of Sharjah
President of Arab Union For Astronomy and Space Sciences